John Wanamaker Athletic Award

The John Wanamaker Athletic Award is presented to the athlete, team or organization that has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and to the team or sport in which they excel. The award is given each year by PHL Sports — a division of the Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau — along with the Wanamaker Building, The Philadelphia Inquirer and CBS3.

John Wanamaker Athletic Award Winners

2023, Jalen Hurts, Jason Kelce
Philadelphia Eagles
2022, Andre Blake
Philadelphia Union Goalkeeper
2021, Carli Lloyd
Two-time FIFA Women’s World Cup™ champion
2019, Fran Dunphy
Head Coach, Temple University Men’s Basketball
2018, Philadelphia Eagles
Super Bowl Champions
2017, Dawn Staley
Temple basketball legend
2016, Villanova Wildcats
NCAA Men’s Basketball Champions
2015, Taney Dragons
Little League World Series Team
2014, LeSean McCoy
Philadelphia Eagles
2013, Bernard Hopkins
2012, Claude Giroux
Philadelphia Flyers
2011, Roy Halladay, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies
2010, Villanova University Football Team
2010 FCS National Champions
2009, Philadelphia Phillies
2008 World Series Champions
2008, Jimmy Rollins, Shortstop
Philadelphia Phillies
2007, Ryan Howard
Philadelphia Phillies
2005, Dawn Staley
Olympian Temple Women’s Basketball Coach
2003, Villanova Women’s Basketball Team
2002, Donovan McNabb, Quarterback
Philadelphia Eagles
2001, Philadelphia 76ers 1999, Philadelphia Phantoms
Calder Cup Champions
1997, Dawn Staley, David Reid & Michael Matz
Philadelphia Olympians
1995, University of Pennsylvania
Men’s Football & Basketball Teams
1994, Philadelphia Phillies
National League Champions
1993, Reggie White, Defensive End
Philadelphia Eagles
1992, Charles Barkley, Forward
Philadelphia 76ers
1991, Lionel Simmons, Forward
LaSalle University basketball
1985, Villanova University, Basketball Team
NCAA Champions
1984, Moses Malone, Center
Philadelphia 76ers
1983, Steve Carlton, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies
1982, Widener College, Football Team
Division III Champions
1981, Philadelphia Phillies
1980 World Series Champions
1980, Flyers & 76ers
Flyers/Stanley Cup Finals   
76ers/NBA Finals
1979, Bill Bergey, All-Pro Linebacker
Philadelphia Eagles
1978, Julius Erving, Forward
Philadelphia 76ers
1977, Mike Schmidt, Third Baseman
Philadelphia Phillies
1976, Fred Shero, Coach
Philadelphia Flyers
1975, Bernie Parent, Goalie
Philadelphia Flyers
1974, Bobby Clarke and The Philadelphia Flyers
1973, Steve Carlton, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies
1972, University of Pennsylvania
Basketball Team
Ivy League & Big Five Title Winners
1971, Joe Frazier
Heavyweight Boxing champion
1970, William Hyndman, III
Amateur Golfer
1969, Jumbo Elliott, Head Track Coach
Villanova University
1968, Joe Frazier
Heavyweight Boxing champion
1967, Wilt Chamberlain, Center
Philadelphia 76ers
1966, Pete Retzlaff, Tight End
Philadelphia Eagles
1965, The Vesper Boat Club
Olympic Champions
1964, Gene Mauch, Manager
Philadelphia Phillies
1963, John E. Wideman, Captain, Basketball Team
University of Pennsylvania
1962, Frank Budd, Track Star
Villanova University
1961, Chuck Bednarik, Center and Linebacker
Philadelphia Eagles

Robert P. Levy Community Service Award Winners

A comprehensive list of past winners of the community service award. The Robert P. Levy Community Service Award is presented to the individual, business or organization which has done the most to contribute to the quality of life in Philadelphia through sports.

2023, Safe-Hub Philadelphia 2022, Anderson Monarchs 2021, Natasha Cloud, WNBA Washington Mystics
guard and social justice advocate
2019, Give and Go Athletics 2018, Beat The Streets 2017, Team Up Philly
2016, Philadelphia City Rowing 2015, Special Olympics Philadelphia 2014, Black Women in Sport Foundation
2013, Back on My Feet 2012, Jerry Segal 2011, Eagles Youth Partnership
2010, SquashSmarts 2009, Temple University football 2008, Andy Talley, Villanova football
2007, Work to Ride 2006, Afleet and Alex’s Lemonade Stand 2005, World B. Free
2004, Coaches vs. Cancer 2003, Philadelphia Phillies 2002, Joe Hand Boxing Gym
2001, PDR Swim Team 2000, Pat Croce 1999, Philadelphia Youth Tennis
1998, Police Athletic League 1997, Sonny Hill 1996, The Flyers’ Wives Fight for Lives


City of Philadelphia’s Parks & Recreation Department, Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

The award is presented annually to the “men and women in our community whose exemplary volunteer efforts have made a real difference in the lives of our City’s young people through sports.”

2023, Foday Turay 2022, Coach Cliff Smith* 2019, Andrew and Connie Crews
2018, Kensington Soccer Club 2017, Wayne “Coach Wiz” Allen 2016, Rahim Thompson
2015, Don Richardson 2014, Ruth Bull 2013, Yolanda Laney
2012, Katie Kirlin Fund

*Awarded posthumously

David P. Montgomery Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

This award is presented to an individual for a lifetime spent making the world a better place through sports.

2023, Don DiJulia 2022, Dr. Nikki Franke 2019, David Montgomery
2017, John Chaney 2014, Tina Sloan-Green 2012, Ed Snider
2007, Herb Magee 2003, Bob Levy 2002, Harry Kalas
2000, Jim Tuppeny


Contact Us Submit RFP

Register & Save

Register with for free to save your favorites for future visits

View My List

See what you've added to "Favorites"