Resources for traveling to Philadelphia right now.

John Wanamaker Athletic Award Winners


Fran Dunphy Named Wanamaker Award Winner

Two Philadelphia sports legends will be honored at this year’s John Wanamaker Athletic Award Luncheon. After his final year as the head coach of the Temple University men’s basketball team, Fran Dunphy will be recognized with the John Wanamaker Athletic Award and long-time Philadelphia Phillies executive David Montgomery will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award during a ceremony at the Crystal Tea Room on June 11.

The Robert P. Levy Community Service Award winner, Give and Go Athletics, provides therapeutic and athletic programs designed to promote health, human development, teamwork, and informal learning. Founded in 2009 by Caleb Jones and Andre Wright, the non-profit brings structured programming and emotional support to youth in North Philadelphia. Exemplifying the award’s definition to “improve the quality of life in Philadelphia through sports”, the organization has created permanent, positive change for its community.

Presented by the City of Philadelphia’s Parks & Recreation Department, the seventh annual Sports Volunteer of the Year Award will recognize Jayhawks Youth Association President and Founder Andre Crews. For more than 40 years, Crews has coached youth basketball in the region, teaching life skills to kids who have gone on to earn college scholarships and degrees. Based in the Kingsessing neighborhood, Crews organizes recreation leagues and helps community members develop resumes and apply for job opportunities.

PHL Sports, the Wanamaker Office Building, CBS3, and the Philadelphia Daily News present the Wanamaker Athletic Award ceremony and luncheon.

The John Wanamaker Athletic Award is presented to the athlete, team or organization which has done the most to reflect credit upon Philadelphia and to the team or sport in which they excel.

The Robert P. Levy Community Service Award is presented to the individual, business or organization which has done the most to contribute to the quality of life in Philadelphia through sports.


1961, Chuck Bednarik, Center and Linebacker
Philadelphia Eagles

1962, Frank Budd, Track Star
Villanova University

1963, John E. Wideman, Captain, Basketball Team
University of Pennsylvania

1964, Gene Mauch, Manager
Philadelphia Phillies

1965, The Vesper Boat Club
Olympic Champions

1966, Pete Retzlaff, Tight End
Philadelphia Eagles

1967, Wilt Chamberlain, Center
Philadelphia 76ers

1968, Joe Frazier
Heavyweight Boxing Champion

1969, Jumbo Elliott, Head Track Coach
Villanova University

1970, William Hyndman, III
Amateur Golfer

1971, Joe Frazier
Heavyweight Boxing Champion

1972, University of Pennsylvania
Basketball Team
Ivy League & Big Five Title Winner

1973, Steve Carlton, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies

1974, Bobby Clarke and The Philadelphia Flyers

1975, Bernie Parent, Goalie
Philadelphia Flyers

1976, Fred Shero, Coach
Philadelphia Flyers

1977, Mike Schmidt, Third Baseman
Philadelphia Phillies

1978, Julius Erving, Forward
Philadelphia 76ers

1979, Bill Bergey, All-Pro Linebacker
Philadelphia Eagles

1980, Flyers & 76ers
Flyers/Stanley Cup Finals   
76ers/NBA Finals

1981, Philadelphia Phillies
1980 World Series Champions

1982, Widener College, Football Team
Division III Champions

1983, Steve Carlton, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies

1984, Moses Malone, Center
Philadelphia 76ers

1985, Villanova University, Basketball Team
NCAA Champions

~ 5 Year Absence ~

1991, Lionel Simmons, Forward
LaSalle University Basketball

1992, Charles Barkley, Forward
Philadelphia 76ers

1993, Reggie White, Defensive End
Philadelphia Eagles

1994, Philadelphia Phillies
National League Champions

1995, University of Pennsylvania
Men’s Football & Basketball Teams

1997, Dawn Staley, David Reid & Michael Matz
Philadelphia Olympians

1999, Philadelphia Phantoms
Calder Cup Champions

2001, Philadelphia 76ers

2002, Donovan McNabb, Quarterback
Philadelphia Eagles

2003, Villanova Women’s Basketball Team

2005, Dawn Staley
Olympian Temple Women’s Basketball Coach

2007, Ryan Howard
Philadelphia Phillies

2008, Jimmy Rollins, Shortstop
Philadelphia Phillies

2009, Philadelphia Phillies
2008 World Series Champions

2010, Villanova University Football Team
2010 FCS National Champions

2011, Roy Halladay, Pitcher
Philadelphia Phillies

2012, Claude Giroux
Philadelphia Flyers

2013, Bernard Hopkins

2014, LeSean McCoy
Philadelphia Eagles

2015, Taney Dragons
Little League World Series Team

2016, Villanova Wildcats
NCAA Men’s Basketball Champions

2017, Dawn Staley
Temple basketball legend

2018, Philadelphia Eagles
Super Bowl Champions



Robert P. Levy Community Service Award Winners

A comprehensive list of past winners of the community service award. The Robert P. Levy Community Service Award is presented to the individual, business or organization which has done the most to contribute to the quality of life in Philadelphia through sports.

1996, The Flyers’ Wives Fight for Lives

1997, Sonny Hill

1998, Police Athletic League

1999, Philadelphia Youth Tennis

2000, Pat Croce

2001, PDR Swim Team

2002, Joe Hand Boxing Gym

2003, Philadelphia Phillies

2004, Coaches vs. Cancer

2005, World B. Free

2006, Afleet and Alex’s Lemonade Stand

2007, Work to Ride

2008, Andy Talley, Villanova football

2009, Temple University football

2010, SquashSmarts

2011, Eagles Youth Partnership

2012, Jerry Segal

2013, Back on My Feet

2014, Black Women in Sport Foundation

2015, Special Olympics Philadelphia

2016, Philadelphia City Rowing

2017, Team Up Philly

2018, Beat The Streets

2019, Give and Go Athletics


City of Philadelphia’s Parks & Recreation Department, Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

The award is presented annually to the “men and women in our community whose exemplary volunteer efforts have made a real difference in the lives of our City’s young people through sports.”

Katie Kirlin Fund – 2012

Yolanda Laney – 2013

Ruth Bull – 2014

Don Richardson – 2015

Rahim Thompson – 2016

Wayne “Coach Wiz” Allen – 2017

Kensington Soccer Club – 2018

Andrew and Connie Crews – 2019

John Wanamaker Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

Jim Tuppeny – 2000

Harry Kalas – 2002

Bob Levy – 2003

Herb Magee – 2007

Ed Snider – 2012

Tina Sloan-Green – 2014

John Chaney – 2017

David Montgomery – 2019

Register & Save

Register with for free to save your favorites for future visits

View My List

See what you've added to "Favorites"